Live Performance Broadcasts

Live Performance Broadcasts are an exciting new development. They bring world-class music and theatre to venues equipped with digital projectors and surround sound systems – including the Wharf. Examples include:

  • Plays from the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford-Upon-Avon.
  • Royal Ballet and Opera from the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.
  • The Bolshoi Ballet from the Moscow State Theatre.
  • Opera from the Metropolitan Opera House, New York.
  • Opera and theatre from La Scala, Milan.

These events are captured as they happen by an outside broadcast crew and transmitted live via satellite to chosen venues. Also some special events such as Queen in Concert are recorded for posterity and transmitted by the same satellite system at a later date.

At the Wharf we are most fortunate, because unlike nearly all the venues receiving these broadcasts, we are not just a cinema, but also a theatre and concert auditorium with all the acoustics and equipment needed to reproduce these events with the utmost high fidelity. Our technical director, Stephen Court, and Stage Manager, David Reese, were trained by the BBC, major recording studios and the Royal Opera House, with experience in live music venues all over the world. Together they have created a 10-channel high-fidelity surround sound system at the Wharf to suit these Live Performance Broadcasts.

Click an event below for more details, including full dates and times, ticket availability and prices.

No Man's Land live from the National Theatre

Thu 15th Dec
Play

The Nutcracker        From The Royal Opera House encore

Sun 18th Dec
Ballet

The Tempest The Royal Shakespeare Company

Wed 11th Jan
Play

Il trovatore

Tue 31st Jan
Opera

Amadeus NT Live

Thu 2nd Feb
Play

Saint Joan NT Live

Thu 16th Feb
Play

The Sleeping Beauty

Tue 28th Feb
Ballet

Hedda Gabler NT Live

Thu 9th Mar
Play

Madama Butterfly

Thu 30th Mar
Opera

Twelfth Night  NT Live

Thu 6th Apr
Play

RSC Live: Julius Caesar

Wed 26th Apr
Play

The Dream / Symphonic Variations / Marguerite and Armand

Wed 7th Jun
Ballet