Prog Rock  |  Seated+Standing

Lifesigns is a British progressive rock band.

Lifesigns was conceived in 2008 by John Young. Working together with sound engineer Steve Rispin, John had started to lay the grounds for the Lifesigns album in 2008. In 2010, John was joined by longtime friend Nick Beggs on bass, Chapman Stick and background vocals, and by drummer Martin "Frosty" Beedle to complete the first lineup of the band.

The band worked for over two years to complete their debut self-titled album, with notable guest stars such as progressive rock legend Steve Hackett (Genesis), Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson), Thijs Van Leer (from Focus) on flute, and Robin Boult (from Fish) on guitar. "Lifesigns" was released on 5 February 2013.

The band began live performances in 2014. As Nick Beggs was busy with other musical endeavors (notably touring with Steve Hackett), Jon Poole was recruited to handle bass and vocals, while Niko Tsonev (departed the band August 2016) took up the guitar duties. The band performed on the progressive "Cruise to the Edge" in the Spring of 2014, as well as appearances in England and continental Europe. In addition to the entire Lifesigns debut, other songs performed included material from the John Young Band, as well as new material.

A live DVD "Under the Bridge - Live in London," filmed over two nights in January 2015, was released in October 2015. The band has made one other appearance on the "Cruise to the Edge" in November 2015. The next confirmed live dates are on "Cruise to the Edge" in spring 2018.

In September 2017 Lifesigns released the second album, Cardington. The tracklist was revealed in February 2017 and includes the title track, studio versions of Different, Impossible and Voice in my Head, and new songs Touch, Chasing Rainbows and N. Album had several guest guitar players, including Dave Bainbridge (Iona, Strawbs, Celestial Fire), Niko Tsonev (Steven Wilson Band, Lifesigns), Robin Boult (Fish, The Freemasons, Phats and Small), Menno Gotjes (Focus). It was announced in June 2017 that Dave Bainbridge will be providing guitar/keys for live shows.

Members of Lifesigns feature: John Young (keys & vocals) Jon Poole (bass & vocals) Frosty Beedle (drums & perc) Niko Tsonev (guitars & vocals) Steve Rispin (engineering and production). Lifesigns recording features John, Frosty, Steve and the masterful Nick Beggs (bass, chapman stick & vocals) Guests: Steve Hackett (guitars) Jakko Jakszyk (guitars) Thijs Van Leer (flutes)

Thu 29th Nov8pm
Buy Tickets
From 6pm on the night £25.00
In Advance £20.00
Wharf Music Club £18.00

Disclaimer: Whilst every effort has been made to give accurate details of our forthcoming programmes, it may be necessary to make last minute changes for reasons beyond our control. Where possible, all such changes will be advertised in the local press and on this website. Popular events may sell out in advance of the night. To avoid disappointment, please check availability above or phone our Box Office on 01822 611166 for the very latest information.